The best winter soup recipes!

It’s finally November! I’m so, so excited because even though Christmas is next month, for me, November is all about the build up to it! Obviously, I have been scouring Pinterest for the tastiest and most warming soup recipes for dinner inspiration for this month (because what else do you do?) and I have found some lovely ones which I thought I’d share with you to see if I can inspire you to get out your soup pot and cook, cook, cook!

1. Butternut squash and bacon:

img_1461editI absolutely adore Butternut squash soup! I had never tried it until the other week but I instantly fell in love ❤ It’s sweet like sweet potato, but also very different. This soup not only has bacon bits on top to add extra flavour, but also goats cheese melted into it. If this isn’t making your mouth water, then I don’t know what will! If you’re a vegetarian (like me) you can adapt the ingredients to your liking. For example, the chicken stock can be vegetable stock and the bacon bits can just be eliminated completely without hindering the flavour too much-if you’re feeling cheeky, you can add extra goats cheese to make up for the loss of flavour from the bacon ;). I found this recipe here and I chose it because it not only looks amazing, but it also sounds perfect to warm you up on a cold winters evening!

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-20-18-242.Parsnip and apple:

Apple has never really been considered as a soup ingredient to me, and honestly, I’ve never tried it. However, this one recipe just sounded lovely! I think Apple would give a soup a delicious sweetness which would contrast nicely with the parsnip. This recipe is one from the BBC Food website and it not only include apple and parsnip, but also onions, garlic and chicken stock (again, this can be substituted for vegetable stock for you veggies out there!) Another bonus of this warming soup, is that it is only around 202 calories per serving, which I personally think is a great healthy meal idea alongside some freshly buttered bread!

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-20-24-58

3) Roasted sweet potato soup:

Sweet potato is my true soul mate. Honestly. Don’t judge.
It’s delicious AND a vegetable?! Crazy. I make sweet potato chips, cubes, gnocchi and even pasta sauce! When I came across this amongst the hundreds of soup recipes on Pinterest I nearly died and went to heaven. The potato is roasted with onions and lots of fresh garlic giving them a gorgeous, strong flavour and even some greek yoghurt to add creaminess-a healthier alternative to cream which is often used. The recipe for this winter meal is on this website-this is 100% definitely a soup I’m going to have to try at some point in the *very near* future!

 

 

 

4) Broccoli and Stilton soup:

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-20-46-49This has always been my favourite soup for since I can remember. My mum makes a delicious, creamy Broccoli and Stilton soup-you can’t even taste the vegetables and the strength of the stilton is perfect! Although this recipe calls for leek,celery and potato, the one my mum makes only calls for literally broccoli and stilton with some cream-simple but amazing! So, I’ve also decided to add this recipe into this post because it is much simpler and the primary ingredients are broccoli and stilton with an optional chilli pepper to add a kick of spice.

 

 

 

5) Spiced Pumpkin soupscreen-shot-2016-11-02-at-21-22-18

Pumpkin spice in a soup?! Apparently this soup recipe tastes just like Pumpkin pie! If so, this sounds perfect for Thanksgiving dinner or even just a Friday night toasty meal. Of course I just had to include a Pumpkin recipe-even though Halloween has been and gone-and this one includes ginger, apple cider and maple syrup which sounds unusual but pretty amazing! I can imagine the sweetness of the pumpkin puree, maple syrup and vanilla all contrast really well with the sourness of the apple cider and the pungent flavour of ginger. It only has 150 calories per serving too! BONUS! If I’m being honest, I kinda found this recipe online rather than on Pinterest-but obviously I instantly pinned it to my ‘Soups!’ board to save for later! The recipe was found on this website and if any of you guys try it, definitely comment down below and tell me if it’s good!

 

So, they’re my top 5 soup recipes I found which seem perfect for a chilly winter’s night! All of them can be adapted to be suitable for Vegetarians and they all appear to be pretty healthy too which is great-they’re low in calories but not in flavour! Comment down below your all time favourite Winter soup recipe and also tell me if you try any of these recipes and what they’re like! ❤

Daisy xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

